Smith Westerns – Dye It Blonde (LP, CD, Digi album)

Dye It Blonde packshot

Smith Westerns were brothers Cullen and Cameron Omori (Vocals / Guitar and Bass, respectively) and Max Kakacek (Guitar.) Produced and engineered by Chris Coady (Beach House, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, TV On The Radio), ‘Dye It Blonde’ was the first album released on Weird World and the Chicago group’s first studio full-length, following 2009’s home-recorded Smith Westerns.

Where that first record of rough-diamond garage-glam stomped along with reckless abandon, channeling golden hooks in thrall to Bowie and Bolan through the grimy hiss of Nuggets-era 1960s garage, ‘Dye It Blonde’ soars more majestically for its greater production values – imbuing its classic arrangements with hints of Britpop swagger and allowing its bold melodies to shine fully. The result is a collection of songs that is as audaciously grand as it is inherently weird. Monumental pop songs painted in psychedelic colours, ‘Dye It Blonde’ is an album that both perfectly encapsulates all the yearning, ambition and romance of young adulthood and belies the youth of its creators, all still under twenty-one when it was created.

Dye the whole world blonde!


1. Weekend
2. Still New
3. Imagine Pt. 3
4. All Die Young
5. Fallen In Love
6. End Of The Night
7. Only One
8. Smile
9. Dance Away
10. Dye The World

Buy Dye It Blonde