Hookworms – Pearl Mystic (LP, CD, Digi album)

PM 1400 front

Leeds-based band Hookworms is set to release their debut album Pearl Mystic via Weird World Records, September 3 in the US and September 2, rest of world.

Hookworms has been terrorizing headlining bands across northern England (as support with Wooden Shjips, Sun Araw and Peaking Lights) and beyond through sheer sonic velocity and emotive intent. The songs feel cathartic, each fresh revolution of the loop a confrontation between the band and themes of depression, loss and anger – subjects close to the heart of the group’s vocalist MJ.

Pearl Mystic is an absolutely thunderous statement of intent for Hookworms (MJ – vox/keys/analogues; JW – guitarist, SS – guitarist; MB – bass; JN – drums). After a portentous couple of years of live shows and limited releases: a debut self-titled cassette EP on Sun Araw’s Sun Ark label, then soon after there was a vinyl release on Gringo Records. Both sold out. During this time their live shows continued to increase in intensity, cementing their reputation treading the boards.

Live and on record they pointedly subvert the tripped out sound environments of psychedelia with a darkly malevolent punk menace; unlike J.Spaceman et al, there’s no chemical assistance, these concepts and feelings come with clarity.

The record was recorded and produced in MJ’s own Suburban Studios – where he’s worked on records for Mazes, Eagulls and Spectrals and more.

Indeed, the most impressive thing about Hookworms is that, through this torrent of emotion, there’s always the sense that they’re in control of it all, so committed are they to this catharsis that they refuse to throw any of it to chance.

1. Away Towards
2. Form & Function
3. i
4. In Our Time
5. Since We Have Changed
6. ii
7. What We Talk About
8. iii