Washed Out shares first taste of Paracosm; “It All Feels Right”

Ernest Greene, AKA Washed Out has today shared the official lyric video for new song “It All Feels Right” – the first track to be taken from his eagerly awaited new album Paracosm. Pieced together entirely using images taken from the album’s artwork and animated by acclaimed illustrator and director Ferry Gouw (creator of Major Lazer), the beautiful, blossoming visual vividly brings to life the themes of nature and escape prevalent throughout Paracosm and provides the perfect accompaniment to the heady, euphoric rush of “It All Feels Right.”

Recorded with co-producer Ben Allen in Greene’s native Georgia over the last year, Paracosm follows the highly acclaimed Washed Out debut Within and Without and is both an appropriate continuation and impressive development of the unique sound Greene originated and brought to prominence – over fifty different analogue and often obscure instruments
including Mellotron, Chamberlin, Novatron, and Optigan joining the ever-present synth arsenal in crafting the most imaginative, transportive and colourful work of the artist’s career so far.

This newly bolstered, even richer and more finely crafted sound suits the conceptual intent of Paracosm in which Greene explores the album’s namesake phenomenon – the idea of people
creating detailed imaginary worlds within which to retreat. The concept has been used to describe fantasy lands like Tolkien’s Middle Earth and C.S. Lewis’ Narnia, and it’s at the heart of the 2004 documentary In The Realms Of The Unreal about outsider artist Henry Darger.

The summer record that will see the winter through, Paracosm sees Greene pushing the boundaries of his own imagination, inviting and evoking powerful sensations of dreaming, escape and discovery in the listener in turn.

Paracosm is due for release by Weird World on August 12th 2013. Pre-order from iTunes now.

Paracosm tracklisting:

1. Entrance
2. It All Feels Right
3. Don’t Give Up
4. Weightless
5. All I Know
6. Great Escape
7. Paracosm
8. Falling Back
9. All Over Now