Peaking Lights share “Breakdown” video; announce UK dates

As announced a fortnight ago, Los Angeles duo Aaron Coyes and Indra Dunis, AKA Peaking Lights are preparing to release their new album Cosmic Logic through Weird World on October 6th 2014.

Today, the duo have shared the official video for first single “Breakdown.” Directed by Eugene Kotlyarenko, the clip portrays a day in the life of a young Los Angeles resident with a deeply anti-social smartphone problem.

Vivid, nocturnal and sensual, the eleven lean and lithe pop songs of Cosmic Logic follow 2012’s much-lauded Lucifer and are another progression in the band’s ever-evolving sound; their free-wheeling, far-reaching production and mesmeric, mantra-like songwriting pushing into brighter, bolder spaces than ever before.

Coyes Engineered and Produced Cosmic Logic in the band’s newly built Los Angeles studio, designing many of the luminous sounds used himself over the eighteen months of its making. The record was mixed by Matt Thornley (DFA, LCD Soundsystem) at C’mpny Studios in LA in the spring of 2014.

It’s a record where a loving homage to ‘Der Song von Mandelay’ – the first song on The Flying Lizards’ debut album (opening track “Infinite Trips”), The Carpenters re-interpretation of 70’s prog rockers Klaatu (the interplanetary groove of “Telephone Call”) and the deliriously catchy digi-dub of lead single “Breakdown” all coalesce with elements of  Jamaican digital dancehall, Cosmic Italo, Chicago house and acid house, Afrobeat and Zamrock, early west coast hip-hop and disco boogie crossover  into something both instantly recognisable and delightfully alien. Looking both to other cultures and the cosmos for inspiration, Cosmic Logic is a record that searches – a beacon in dark times.


  1. Infinite Trips
  2. Telephone Call
  3. Hypnotic Hustle
  4. Everyone and Us
  5. Little Light
  6. Dreamquest
  7. Eyes to Sea
  8. Bad With The Good
  9. New Grrrls
  10. Breakdown
  11. Tell Me Your Song

Cosmic Logic will be available on CD (Weird033CD),  deluxe LP including a limited edition bonus 12”, featuring two exclusive remixes by Peaking Lights (Weird033LPX), digital download (Weird033D) and a special, exclusive t-shirt download album bundle (Weird003TS).  You can pre-order ‘Cosmic Logic’ via Weird World or iTunes.


The band have also announced a string of rare live dates for October:

21 Nov  Paris, La Machine (LIVE; Weird World night with Jaakko Eino Kalevi)
23 Nov London, Plastic People (Peaking Lights Sound System DJ)
24 Nov Glasgow, CCA (with Jaakko Eino Kalevi) (LIVE)
25 Nov Liverpool, Liverpool Music Week (LIVE)
28 Nov London, Plan B (LIVE)