Watch SILICON’s “Burning Sugar” video


With the forthcoming release of debut album Personal Computer on Weird World on 28th August, Kody Nielson’s Silicon has released a new video for single Burning Sugar. Watch here.

Directed by both Nielson and Ralph BrownBurning Sugar‘s hallucinatory dreamland boasts everything from Silicon’s musical world in vibrant colour, as analogue and digital merge together to balance perfectly in Silicon’s audiovisual vision.

Personal Computer is a seductive electronica record that pits Nielson’s brilliant soul, funk and disco influenced songwriting against a backdrop of extra-terrestrial noir sonics, calling to mind the varied likes of Flying Lotus, Panda Bear and Daft Punk in the process, as well as that of the project of Nielson’s brother Ruban, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, with whom Kody co-wrote and co-produced the new album Multi-Love and who was also his former band-mate in cult New Zealand punk group The Mint Chicks.

A prodigiously talented multi-instrumentalist, vocalist and producer, who remains resistant to any kind of easy pigeonholing, Kody Nielson may well have concocted the purest distillation of his hyperactive musical brain yet, in the shape of Silicon. Created in the small hours when the energy is strong, Silicon sends out pulses of warped, genuinely soulful, retro-futuristic electronica that smudges the lines between human warmth and disembodied voices from the machine.

The release of Personal Computer will be augmented by a series of twenty nine paintings of Kody’s ‘Emoji’ icon which adorn the artwork, and will subsequently be exhibited in New York and London, and made available for sale after the album’s release. The Silicon live experience, which has already manifested itself in the U.K. and Europe, will not be subscribing to the usual dreary linear path that is the default mode of the less imaginative.

Personal Computer will be available via Weird World on limited edition deluxe 12″ coloured vinyl including booklet of all the Personal Computer artwork created by Kody Nielson, standard 12″ vinyl, CD and digital download. Pre-order it now via Dom Mart HERE and iTunes HERE.


Personal Computer track list

  1. Personal Computer
    2. Cellphone
    3. Sumarine
    4. God Emoji (watch the video HERE)
    5. Burning Sugar (watch the video HERE)
    6. Little Dancing Baby
    7. I Can See Paradise
    8. Love Peace
    9. Blow
    10. Dope

Silicon - Personal Computer album packshot hi-res