How To Dress Well announces new album ‘Care’, shares first single “Lost Youth / Lost You”

HTDW - Care packshot

How To Dress Well – aka Tom Krell – will release his fourth album, Care, on September 23, 2016 via Weird World / Domino. Written by Krell, mixed by Andrew Dawson (Kanye West, fun.), and featuring co-production from Krell alongside Jack Antonoff, Dre Skull, CFCF, and Kara-Lis Coverdale, Care is a sensual, dazzling alt-pop tour de force.

The song ‘Lost Youth / Lost You’ is available to hear now. The video for the track, directed by Ben Tricklebank and choreographed by Jos McKain, features dancers McKain, Viet Dang, Grave Jones, Emily Jane, and Annie Blackhurt. The video – which is NSFW, so be warned! – can be viewed HERE. A censored version is available for viewing HERE.

Stream ‘Lost Youth / Lost You’ HERE.

Watch the uncensored version of the video HERE.

Watch the safe-for-work version of the video HERE.

Care is the next step in the evolution of Krell’s sound, which began with his first critically-lauded album, Love Remains, in 2010 and continued up through his widely acclaimed previous album, What Is This Heart?, released in 2014.  In six quick years, Krell has deftly moved from hazy, bedroom R&B to full-blown alt-pop gems, projecting more clarity and depth than ever before.  Writing and working between Chicago, Los Angeles, and New York, Care retains Krell’s signature lyrical wordplay while being the most vibrant, curious, and celebratory he’s ever been with the listener.  It’s an intimate album that goes big, filled with stadium-sized choruses, rollicking guitar solos, vocal tenderness, and Celine Dion-inspired melodies.  It is radio-ready hooks refracted through the How To Dress Well lense, tinting all the broader strokes with the unique elements that have always made Krell a celebrated musical visionary.  This is a record that makes us want to know each other clearer, and ultimately, to allow ourselves to feel joy.

Care will be available on standard CD, standard 2xLP, digitally and a limited deluxe edition 2xLP. The limited deluxe edition LP includes the album on colored marble double vinyl and a 16 page 12″x12″ booklet, and can be exclusively pre-ordered from the How To Dress Well store. All pre-orders include an instant download of “Lost Youth / Lost You.”


HTDW - Care deluxe LP mock up
Pre-order the album via iTunes

Pre-order the album via the Dom Mart

Pre-order the deluxe version via the How To Dress Well store



  1. Can’t You Tell
  2. Salt Song
  3. What’s Up
  4. Lost Youth / Lost You
  5. The Ruins
  6. Burning Up
  7. I Was Terrible
  8. Anxious
  9. Time Was Meant To Stay
  10. Made A Lifetime
  11. They’ll Take Everything You Have

How To Dress Well will be hitting the road in support of Care this fall.  All worldwide dates below will be on sale this coming Friday, July 29th.





10 – Point Ephémère, Paris (tickets)

11 – Botanique – Rotonde, Brussels (tickets)

14 – 0T301 – Amsterdam (tickets)

15 – Häkken, Hamburg (tickets)

16 – Gretchen, Berlin (tickets)

18 – Rust, Copenhagen (tickets)

19 – Debaser Strand, Stockholm (tickets)

21 – Village Underground, London (tickets)

23 – Stereo, Glasgow (tickets)
24 – Band On the Wall, Manchester (tickets)


How To Dress Well online


SNAPCHAT: htdwtk