Connan Mockasin and LA Priest announce debut album as Soft Hair

Soft Hair are Connan Mockasin and Sam Dust (LA PRIEST / Late of The Pier). Their eponymous debut album is due for release via Weird World on October 28th 2016.

Soft Hair packshot

The album’s recording took place over five years amongst the pair’s solo careers and outside lives. After the dispersion of Late of the Pier, whom Connan supported on tour in 2009 (the first time the two met), Sam travelled in the far east, Africa, Europe and elsewhere, spending time inventing his own instruments, producing and directing, and re-emerging as LA PRIEST in 2015 with debut solo album Inji.

Connan meanwhile released the albums Forever Dolphin Love and Caramel and toured the world extensively, working with artists such as James Blake, Charlotte Gainsbourg and Vince Staples.

The songs on this album were written and recorded in a wide array of locations using methods that neither Mockasin nor Dust had used previously, developed by the pair from the start of its creation. As a result, the record gives the listener a view into an exotic world with a blend of familiar, unfamiliar and unconventionally attractive sounds.

Watch the Soft Hair / Joseph Bird-directed video for first single, “Lying Has To Stop” now:

The songs on Soft Hair are, in order:

01           Relaxed Lizard
02           Jealous Lies
03           i.v.
04           A Goood Sign
05           Lying Has To Stop
06          In Love
07           Alive Without Medicine
08           l.i.v.

Soft Hair is out October 28th 2016 on CD (WEIRD078CD), Digitally (WEIRD078D) and LP (WEIRD078LP.) Pre-order is available now.