Xenoula announces debut album; new single “Caramello” out now

Excited to announce the debut eponymous album by new signing Xenoula, coming November 24th 2017 and share the record’s lead single & video “Caramello” today.

Stream ‘Caramello’ here.

Teaming up with producer Sam Dust aka LA Priest whose recent work includes his own debut solo album as well as Connan Mockasin collaboration Soft Hair, Xenoula’s songs are adorned in a chameleon-like coat of shape-shifting sonic textures, and glide over an energetic core of ground-shaking rhythm.

Xenoula takes the listener from the brooding, electric clouds and bubbling synths of ‘Chief of Tin’ – watch the video here – to the sun-warped bassline pop of ‘Caramello’ as we move further into Xenoula’s enthralling universe.

Xenoula is Romy Xeno. Romy spent her early years in South Africa where she was influenced by the elemental songs of nearby villagers and the (tranquil) rhythms of nature. Here she developed an introspective affinity with flora and fauna rather than with man and machines.

When Romy moved back to the UK at the age of 16, the culture shock and collision of two contrasting worlds inspired her to make music as a way of communicating her feelings about her new surroundings to the crowds of people she instinctively shied away from.

For Romy, Xenoula is an exploration of nature and human contradictions. The music is infused with memories of her childhood in South Africa, her experiences in the sprawling cities of Europe and with the realm of the ethereal and mysterious. Recently retreating to the quieter climes of north Wales, Romy forged the sounds of Xenoula.

 Xenoula is available to pre-order on vinyl with an exclusive 12” hand-painted and signed photo insert, standard vinyl, CD with a 12 page booklet and digitally. Pre-order: Dom Mart / Digital

Xenoula LP mock up


  1. Chief of Tin
  2. Luna Man
  3. Cyan Water
  4. Caramello
  5. Dawn Bunny
  6. She Ghosts
  7. Honey Priest
  8. Alauda
  9. Deer Ron
  10. Leyline Ogres
  11. Tororoi